Scott Chandler (age-35) eldest gymnast ever

At 35 years old, a P.E.I. man became the oldest gymnast to compete at the Canadian Gymnastics Championships on Thursday night.

Scott Chandler, who has competed in 16 national championships, has managed to keep his sense of humour about the fact that he’s twice the age of most of the 900 gymnasts competing at the championships.

“They call me old man most of the time,” he said, laughing. …

On Thursday night, Chandler told CBC News he was happy with his 14th place finish and his new place in the record books.

He’s not talking about retirement yet.

“I said I’d do it as long as I’m having fun and I had lots of fun out there tonight.”

CBC – P.E.I. man oldest gymnast to compete in nationals

How many full Horizontal Bar routines did you actually complete prior to HITTING that routine at Nationals, Scott ??
🙂

About Rick Mc

Career gymnastics coach who loves the outdoors, and the internet.
This entry was posted in Nationals 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Scott Chandler (age-35) eldest gymnast ever

  1. Scott Chandler says:

    Well I HIT the bar about 82 times, but actually HIT the routine only 3 times between Nationals 2010 and Nationals 2011. I’ll take those odds any day Rick!

Leave a comment